Let’s give this a whirl

8 01 2010

I am 100% new at this so I guess I’ll just dive right in.

I started a few projects over the Christmas break and planned many many more.  I started and completed a hat and scarf set for my friend Meghan as a present.  She had picked out the hat and I decided to add a matching scarf.  I used the pattern “Big Rasta Thumb Cable Beret” available from pixiebell on Etsy.com.  I will have to get some pictures of it to post.  I’m very proud of it as it was my first project involving cables AND double-pointed needles, both of which I was previously convinced were difficult.

The other items I started over Christmas were a shawl for myself to wear at the drafty library and a burgundy and gold Harry Potter scarf for Lesley.  The scarf is coming along quite well and I’m super impressed with the colours.  They didn’t look quite right in the store, but once I started working them together it was like magic how good they looked.  The shawl is much slower going as it is much wider, but I am already loving how it is working up.  I’m using Lion Brand Homespun yarn for that one.  It’s so soft, I lose a lot of working time snuggling with it already and it’s not even 1/3 done.

My next project is a scarf for Paige.  I have already bought the yarn, a nice deep purple in Bernat Harmony.  I have a few ideas running around for a pattern but it isn’t quite finalized yet.  I’m picturing chunky cables but it needs a little more to be just right.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 01 2010
Jackie S. Quire

Holy crow, talk about busy. When I think about what I did over the holidays… I come up blank. I didn’t even read a book 😦

I did, however, finish a really neat-looking quilted accent pillow for my bed.

Also? Totally jealous of your mad knitting skillz. As we all know my one and only attempt at knitting proved only one thing: if I teach myself, it turns out backwards and upside down.

8 01 2010
lemaclean

I can teach you to knit next time you are home if you like. It’s pretty easy when you get the hang of it. I also have lots of yarn kicking about to practice with.
Do you have any pictures of the pillow?

9 01 2010
Paula

Sounds like you’ve been really busy! Way to go! That reminds me that it’s been about a year since I’ve taken out my knitting things and I should get back to it! This year I started up doing cross stitching again and it’s slow going but also pretty fun to see a finished project!

9 01 2010
lemaclean

Hey Paula, How are you? My goodness it’s been a long time. I love that feeling of stepping back and looking at a finished piece. What kind of cross stitch project are you working on?

Leave a Reply

